Show me your Glory: Exodus 33: You know be by name

The Strong God

 

12 Moses said to the Lord, “You have been telling me, ‘Lead these people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. You have said, ‘I know you by name and you have found favor with me.’ 13 If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.”

14 The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

15 Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here

 – Exodus 33

Have you ever just been talking to someone about a topic or asking a question when in your own talking the answer popped into your head? The other day i approached our COO of our company to ask her a question, my mind was scattered and i rambled for about 5 minutes before realising that i knew the answer to my own question. I then answered my own question. Puzzled she looked at me as if to say “did you just have a conversation with yourself?” – instead she just giggled and shook her head.

I feel as if this was exactly what Moses was dealing with speaking to God. In talking about the challenge that it is to lead a few million people through the desert, he realises that God knows him by name.

What does this mean?

God – who is great – and all powerful

Knows you by name – this is perhaps different then just being known by any person. But this knowledge is not just the knowing of someone – this is to know someone intimately, to love them and be in relationship with them.

I remember walking into one of my earlier business negotiations for a potential third clinic. I was talking to the real estate agent and after some time i realised he was having me on. Being a young person in business this can often happen. I weaved the conversation toward a friend who had been helping me in real estate, he immediately asked “how do i know this person” – why did ask this? Because just to know of someone doesn’t mean anything, but to know someone by name gives can change a situation.

Moses realised that God creator of the universe knows him by name intimately and personally. This means any problem he will ever face, any short coming he might have, God who created the universe and knows him by name changes any situation.

You’ve heard the term it’s now what you know but who you know. This is as true of life as it is with God. Any trial, challenge or tribulation you can face the response… It’s not what you know but who you know. I find it interesting that many people find security in theology and what they know about God… but knowing things about God does not mean you know God.

For the Christian leader today who dreams of changing the world, yes your dreams are too big, yes you aren’t perfect and yes you are incapable of achieving your dream BUT it’s not what you know but who you know. We know God BUT even more powerful God knows us by name.

This is how we change the world – by knowing God and by realising that God knows us and has called us individually by name.

Leave a comment